The Centre comprises a close-knit team of dedicated faculty - both full-time and visiting - who are acclaimed as researchers, teachers and thought leaders. They are supported by administrators who work tirelessly to ensure a smooth delivery of our offerings. 


Abdul Latif Alhassan

Head of Minor Dissertation (DEFIC) | Associate Professor

Mundia Kabinga

Senior Research Fellow | Lecturer

Nicholas Biekpe

Director of DEFIC & Development Finance Programmes | Professor

Sean Gossel

Assistant Deputy Director | Research Director | Associate Professor

Sharron McPherson

Adjunct Senior Lecturer

Xolisa Dhlamini

Head of Coursework - DEFIC | Lecturer


Ms Mmakgoshi Phetla-Lekhethe (African Development Bank)
Mohan Vivekanandan (DBSA)
Dr Sephooko Motelle (Central Bank of Lesotho)
Dr Nynakomo Marwa (University of Stellenbosch Business School)
Prof Joel Eita (University of Johannesburg)
Prof Odongo Kodongo (Wits Business School)
Prof Danny Cassimon (University of Antwerp)
Prof Faizel Ismail (Director of the Nelson Mandela School of Public Governance, University of Cape Town)
A/Prof Patricia Makoni (University of South Africa)
Dr Joseph Oscar Akotey (Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology)
Dr Elikplimi Agbloyor (University of Ghana Business School)
Dr Elizabeth Nanziri (University of Stellenbosch Business School)
Dr Misheck Mutize 


Ms Candice Marais (Programme Coordinator: MCom Development Finance)
Samantha van Ross (Coursework Programme Coordinator: DEFIC)
Modie Sempu (Administrative Assistant: DEFIC)